Palak Soya Curry


I have this habit of buying things, even if I don like them much. Reason is that they are healthy.

I would hope that I would start growing a liking for them or I may find an interesting way to eat them.

Soya chunks is one such thing. I like soya mince. Bu not the chunks, as i feel they don taste good. I was wondering what to do with the chunks I got ages ago, when a thought struck me. Why not try soya chunks in the palak paneer version, instead of paneer.

Result : I like soya chunks too….!!!

soya palak

What :

  •   2-3 bunch Spinach / Palak
  •   1 cup Soya Chunks
  •   1 big Onion
  •   4 Green Chillies
  •   1 tsp Garlic Paste
  •   1 tsp Ginger Paste
  •   1 tsp Cumin Powder
  •   1.5 tsp Coriander Powder
  •   Chilli Powder
  •   2-3 pinches Turmeric Powder
  •   Salt
  •   Oil

  How:

–     Bring water to boil in a vessel & put the cleaned Spinach leaves & allow it to wilt. Remove the leaves with a slotted spoon. Cool it & make a puree out of it.

–     In the same water, add soy chunks & let it remain for 5-10 min. By that time they would have soaked in water n become bigger. Take them out & squeeze out the excess water in the chunks.

–     Meanwhile, heat oil, add slit green chillies , thinly diced onion, salt, turmeric powder & saute.

–     Once the onions are done add garlic paste , ginger paste & fry for a minute.

–     Add the pureed spinach, the powders salt & cook for 2 minutes.

–     Add the soya chunks give a good mix.

–    Pour water for the required gravy & let it simmer.

–     Cook for 5 minutes, check & adjust the seasoning.

  **  Let the chunks sit in the curry for at least 30 min for them to soak down the gravy. It tastes every bit nice.

2 comments

  1. Komali

    Good idea… Even I have soya chunks in my kitchen. Will try it

Leave a Reply

