Roasted Butternut Squash Cubes


Basically, I don like my main dishes to be sweetened. But, I’m changing that hard-rules a bit, so that I can experience many more wonderful eats.

Whenever I went to the groceries, I would pass this golden-hued beauty, see it out of the corner of my eye, admire its color and texture. Sometimes I would pick one fellow, thinking hard how to cook it, I would place him back in his place. I’m trying to cook more in the oven now. Just few days back, I tried making beetroot wafers, which backfired. Though I couldn’t fix it, I understood where it went wrong. Thats when it struck me, that I could roast Mr.Squash too. Googled for the basic process, cooking time etc. And I’m ready for it.

After tempting me for almost a year, Mr B Squash entered my kitchen, where it waited patiently for a week, to be paired with the fragrant rosemary. This vegetable is very new to me. I was skeptical about its taste, so din have much idea how to pair it with. I used a basic flavor here. Topped the roasted pieces with some ricotta cheese. I could say, it (din) helped to enhance the meal. But I must say, the next day when I had the leftovers, it was more tastier. As it is  bit sweet, I   may add more heat to this recipe, next time.

 

Roasted Butternut Squash

Butternut Squash cubes roasted and rosemary flavored

What :

  •     1 medium Butternut Squash
  •     1 tsp Rosemary
  •     1 tbsp Olive Oil
  •     Salt
  •     Pepper Powder
  •     Ricotta Cheese scrapes.

 

How :

–       Preheat the oven.

–      Peel Mr B Squash, scoop the seeds and cut it into cubes.

–       Take the cubes into a bowl, except cheese, add the remaining ingredients and mix well.

–       Foil a baking dish, put these squash cubes in a single layer and put it on the top rack and roast for 45 mins on 200C

–       In between, take out the dish and give it a quick toss and continue.

–       Once done, sprinkle some scraped ricotta cheese and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

