We Lovingly Call It ‘Aloo…’


 

Yeah….We lovingly call it ‘Aloo’ (meaning potato), though there are brinjals and tomtoes too. This recipe and the memories are quite close to heart. I still remember how it got christened as ‘aloo’. We, sisters, came home from school just then, for lunch. I must be around 12 yrs then. In school we finished an ‘English – Lesson’, bout Mahatma Gandhi; and from that I came to know that aloo means potato in hindi. When I saw my favorite dish for luch and lot many potatoes in it, I called it ‘aloo’. Thus the name is established.

Though I love it, I never tried it; So when I tried it, It went all wrong. I mean the taste was near perfect. but not the look. How would I, when I use, aubergines in place of seeded brinjals. The seeds from the brinjals is all-over the curry here, which adds to the look.

Now I observe my mom when she cooks – and know her li’l secrets which make them so much tasteful and flavorful. This time its a hit. 😉

 

aloo brinjal

brinjal & potatoes with tomato

 

What :

  •     5-6 seeded Brinjals, cubed
  •     3-4 medium Potatoes, cubed
  •     2-3 medium Tomatoes, cubed
  •     4 Garlic cloves
  •     10 Curry Leaves
  •     Coriander leaves (for garnishing)
  •     Salt
  •     2 tsp Red Chilli Powder
  •     2 tsp Coriander Powder
  •     Oil

 

How :

–      Heat oil.  Add Curry leaves and garlic. ( crush the garlic with the back of the knife to release its flavors)

–      Once nice aroma of the above comes, add brinjal pieces and saute well. till they are done, but not mushy.

–      Add potatoes, and a bit of salt.

–      When potatoes are almost done, add tomatoes, salt, red chilli powder, coriander powder and mix well.

–      Pour water till it is above 1cm of the veggies & let simmer till tomatoes turn mushy.

–      Once the curry is done, mash few potatoes to thicken the curry.

–      Garnish with coriander leaves & serve.

 

 

 

**          Adding salt, while adding each veggie, ensures fast cooking & enhances taste too

**         The beauty of this aloo is it goes with anything. Rice, chapati, poori, idli, dosa, bread etc.

**        Coriander powder is the king of this curry. Avoid it, u have a normal curry, add it, u have heaven in your plate.

5 comments

  1. Lovely simple spice component 🙂

  2. Wow …simply wow looking gr88 I will try this recipe ….

Leave a Reply

