Methi Matar Pulao – Single Pot Meal


                      It’s true that one doesn’t realise the value of things which one have. Hmm….In this context I’m talking bout Greens. When available in abundance, in India, I know I used to feel so disappointed when mom says whats gonna be on the plate. Hmm….Now in UK, I miss them soo much.

                     Lemme be fair, not going to complain so much too….as I get few greens. But naah…not the abundant choice, not the freshness and sometimes not the taste too. So Last weekend, I went to one of my favorite grocery shop (it always gives me a high to go there). There I saw these wonderfully fresh methi/fenugreek leaves. Now Could I resist that ???

                    When i was thinking what to cook for a very quick-lunch, when time is running out, I decided on this. ‘Methi Pulao’ …..so easy to cook…….The actual pain in the ass is plucking those little leaves; Well I finally got hubby to help me there at early 7 am. ;-). It’s a single pot dish. I used the rice cooker.

 

methi pulao

 

 

What :

  •      2 cups Basmati Rice
  •      3 cups Methi / Fenugreek Leaves ( Tightly packed )
  •      1 Big Carrot (optional)
  •      1/2 cup Peas
  •      1 medium Onion
  •      2 medium Tomatoes
  •      2-3 Green chillies
  •      1 tsp Cumin
  •      1 small Bay Leaf
  •      2-3 Cloves
  •      1″ Cinnamon stick
  •      2 tsp Red Chilli Powder
  •      2 tsp Coriander Powder
  •      1 Veg Stock Cube (optional)
  •      1 tsp Ginger paste
  •      1 tsp Garlic paste
  •      Salt
  •      Oil

 

 

How :

–      Wash the rice and soak it in water for 20 min.

–      In the Cooker, Heat oil, add the BayLeaf, Cinnamon, Cloves. Once the aroma is released, splutter the cumin in it.

–      Add the chopped onions, green chillies, peas, carrots and methi leaves. Add some salt at this stage.

–      Once the leaves are cooked, add the finely chopped tomatoes, red chilli powder, coriander powder.

–      Add the veg stock cube here. Not necessary, but it gives the extra-taste to the dish.

–      Once the tomatoes are mushy, add the drained rice and saute well, till everything gets coasted nicely.

–      Pour the required water, check and adjust the seasoning.

–      Go and relax, rest is taken care by the rice-cooker;

–      Once done, fluff it with a fork and enjoy.

 

 

 

Though the main things were methi & matar in the pasta (methi matar farfalle) I cooked, the addition of different spices made them two totally different dishes…..Hmm….I cant keep wondering, the greatness of spices.

 

 

**  Chop the methi before cooking, if you don want to see the long greeny strands. I always remember this, after adding the leaves to the pot.

**  If not using frozen or fresh peas, you may need to cook them separately, and add it to this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

