Scrambled Besan Rice With Prawns


 

 

 

 

 

When does your weekend pleasure/happiness start ??? For me, it starts from Thursday night, and it gradually intensifies by friday evening. At 6pm of any friday I would be so immensely happy…..!!! Usually friday nights are spent relaxed seeing  a movie-with a drink-along with hubby-dinner from takeaway-a sleeping son (since 8 months)-in the company of friends (sometimes)….!!! Now isn’t it heaven….????

But strangely, this friday I felt like cooking dinner and as I din want to compromise on the above said relaxing-method, I wanted to do something in a jiffy. Wanted to have prawns and was feeling a bit pasta (previous day hangover). When I said this, hubby said he was very much in the mood of having rice. Well, I was wondering what to cook the prawns n rice with.

Given the mood to cook the friday dinner, any other regular (Prawn rice, prawn pulao, prawn biryani) would have dampened my cooking spirits. So I settled down with this recipe. It’s not a recipe actually. I like the taste of this chickpea flour, so I simply tought why not try this.

Whenever I cook something, of which I’m totally unsure, I give my husband a ‘maybe-a-disaster-on-plate’ warning. I gave one too, as I thought the rice may end up being too dry. But the final dish was so nice. I mean, its moist, soothing along with those such-a-soft-prawns. I thought, this recipe must be recorded. Hubby loved it too. Definitely, a winner and a friday comforter too.

I know I have pampered friday too much, but what to do, ‘I just love Fridays”

 

Besan Rice, Easy RIce, Prawn Rice

 

 

What :

  •      1 cup Basmati Rice
  •      250 gm Prawns
  •      1 Big Onion
  •      3-4 Green Chillies
  •      1 tsp Ginger Paste
  •      1 tsp Garlic Paste
  •      1 Egg
  •      2-3 tbsp Maida/ Plain Flour
  •      5 tbsp Gram Flour / Besan / ChickPea Flour
  •      4 tsp Red Chilli Powder
  •      Salt
  •      1 tsp Cumin
  •      1 Sprig Curry Leaves
  •      Oil

 

How :

–      Clean and devein the prawns.

–      Cook the rice. Texture : grain-y is preferred.

–      Marinate the prawns with ginger-garlic pastes, salt, red chilli powder, egg and flour. Mix it well such that the prawns are coated in this flour paste. Keep it aside for atleast 15 min.

–      In another bowl, take the besan/chick pea flour put some salt and red chilli powder in it, pour water and mix well so that no lumps are present. Consistency must be of a thick batter. (like pancake/dosa)

–      Now heat oil in a pan, put the prawns in a single layer. At this point, if any of the maida/flour batter is remaining, keep it aside. Cook on each side for 3-4 minutes. Once they are cooked, drain them onto a kitchen towel.

–      In the same pan, heat little bit of oil, pour the besan/ chickpea batter into it. Pour the  marinated batter, if any. Now, start scrambling it. Keep on stirring till it is completely cooked. The end product is finely scrambled. Take into the same prawn-bowl.

–      In the same pan, heat little bit oil, splutter cumin, add finely chopped green chillie, curry leaf, chopped onions and saute well.

–      Once the onions are done,  put the prawn-besan scramble, cooked rice into it. Mix well.

–      Check the adjust the seasoning as required. Enjoy.

 

 

 

**         Instead of Prawns, potatoes, chicken can also be substituted. Tastes good as plain-besan-rice too.

**         As I was not able to judge the nature of the chickpea flour, I used more oil in that stage. could be avoided and just a tsp could be used. If using non-stick, oil in this stage could be avoided. Experiment, as per taste.

**         If the rice turns out to be very dry, just add a tsp of soy sauce. (may not be needed). Remember too much can alter the taste.

Leave a Reply

