Vinayaka Chavithi 2011


Happy and encouraged by 2010’s Vinayaka Chavithi, I wanted to continue the eco-friendly celebration. But I was clueless as how I wud celebrate the festival. Though I had few other ideas, none of them pushed me enough. Even this too……..!!!!!

I still remember, the previous day we went to cinema and was returning home t 10 pm, when hubby asked me…..”How are we going to prepare it this year.” I said may be vegetables. Not very convinced. I said my be Aubergines and other things. We straight away went to the grocery shop below our partment……n I selected Aubergines, Courgettes etc…..While hubby (Mr M) proudly spotted this red-crooked chilli nd told me, this must be the trunk. I was happy and laughing when  M was trying hard to explain why he was taking a single red-chilli, our festival vinayka chavithi, our God whose head resembles an elephant etc…

On the festival day (a working day) I finished all my chores did all the food-offerings to the God and sat with the vegetables and a silly fear which was not letting me to start. But God blessed me and the below is the picture.  Just the aubergines worked fine for me.

We had a very late pooja and went to friends place and invited few of them home and had a very tiring day, but slept happily and proudly.

eco friendly, vegetable vinayakudu, pillayar, ganesh ji, eco-friendly ganesh, aubergine ganesh,

 

Used :

  • 2 Medium Aubergines
  • 1 twisted Red Chilli
  • 2 Chana Dal ( for eyes)
  • Green Peas (for garland)
  • Toothpicks (to keep the pieces together)
  • Glue (to stick the eyes)
  • Thread (for the pe-garland)
  • Decorative stickers

eco friendly, vegetable vinayakudu, pillayar, ganesh ji, eco-friendly ganesh, aubergine ganesh,

 

In the middle of no-where did it occur me to photograph ‘the making’.

Cut the base of the aubergine to make it stand. And out of the cut bottom, two quarters had been cut and made the ears. Only after I reached this stage, I felt confident that I could finish this off.

eco friendly, vegetable vinayakudu, pillayar, ganesh ji, eco-friendly ganesh, aubergine ganesh,

 

 

2 quarters of 2nd aubergine (top cut) became the legs

eco friendly, vegetable vinayakudu, pillayar, ganesh ji, eco-friendly ganesh, aubergine ganesh,

 

2 halves of the 3rd quarter became the hands

eco friendly, vegetable vinayakudu, pillayar, ganesh ji, eco-friendly ganesh, aubergine ganesh,

 

Made him sit on an inverted bowl and covered the bowl with cabbage leaves

eco friendly, vegetable vinayakudu, pillayar, ganesh ji, eco-friendly ganesh, aubergine ganesh,

 

Eyes and garland set too

eco friendly, vegetable vinayakudu, pillayar, ganesh ji, eco-friendly ganesh, aubergine ganesh,

 

Decorated him with last years remaining stickers and made the mooshik too

eco friendly, vegetable vinayakudu, pillayar, ganesh ji, eco-friendly ganesh, aubergine ganesh,

 

After the pooja

4 comments

  1. Komali

    Good attempt.

Leave a Reply

