Veg Malai Kofta Curry


 

OK……..well how yummy can a weekend lunch be ????  Let me tell how yummy ours was……

It was so yummy that I ditched the other recipes which were waiting to be posted (I go by-date).It was so yummy that I pampered myself with an extra helping of rice. It was so yummy that dinner was rice too (dinner is non-rice for us). It was so yummy that I forget the time I spent in the kitchen preparing it. It was so yummy that I forgave the sin I did (sin ???? yeah sin…!!! Continue Reading…). It was so yummy, I din mind the calories in it. It was so yummy, My hubby Mr M was so happy I made it. Well…tell me how Malai Kofta is supposed to be ??? YUM YUM YUM..!!! Finger Licking YUMMM….!!!!!!!

Wanted to do this since a year and finally I started with the preparation of veggies and I was disappointed. I din wan to do it. I mean the idea that I had to deep fry the Koftas was too terrible for me N yeah that’s the sin I was talking bout it. We don indulge in fried food (I din say…we hate. Who wouldn’t love fried foods ????) But I was half way through the preperation….no going back. So I half heartedly started it. I tried shallow-frying the koftas….but I understood they were going to take long time, so opted for deep-frying. Ok…ocassionally its fine. Isnt it ?????

Though I had tasted this twice or so at the restaurant, I don remember the ingredients going in. So I googled a lot. Found that it din have a standard recipe. So I took my own stand and my own recipe for the gravy too.

I added chopped nuts in the koftas. The lovely crunch that they give is too awesome.

Now start for it. It is definitely a time taking recipe. I actually never thought that I would post it. But I know I’m not going to do this again in the near future, nd when the outcome is so yummy, I decided to blog it. When I prepare it next time, It definitely should be a deserving reason

And don forget to ventilate your kitchen to get rid of that oily-odour which reminds you of the sin. Sigh….after such an elaborate cooking time (for me) I decided next weekend it should be a simple meal.

 

malai_kofta_veg

Preparation time : 20 min
Cooking time (Koftas & Gravy) : 40 min
Serves : 5 Greedy People

What :

for Koftas 

any vegetables of your choice, but potatoes are good binding ingredients. The below list makes approx 20-25 lemon sized koftas.

  •      4-5 medium Potatoes
  •      2-3 Carrots
  •      2 fistful Beans
  •      1 fist Peas
  •      1 fist Sweet Corn
  •      3/4 th cup nuts (Almonds, Cashewnuts)
  •      1/2 cup Bread Crumbs
  •      Salt
  •      1 tsp Red Chilli Powder
  •      2-3 Green Chillies
  •      1 tsp Coriander Powder
  •      1 tsp Cumin Powder
  •      Oil to deep fry

for Gravy

  •      3 big Tomatoes
  •      2 medium Onions
  •      5 Green Chillies
  •      1/2 cup Cashewnuts
  •      1 tsp Cumin Powder
  •      2 tsp Coriander Powder
  •      2 tsp Red Chilli Powder
  •      1/2 tsp Turmeric Powder
  •      1 tsp Ginger Paste
  •      1 tsp Garlic Paste
  •      2 tsp Sugar (Optional)
  •      3 tbsp Cream (Optional)
  •      2 tsp Kashmiri Chilli Powder / Paprika (optional)
  •      Whole Garam Masala (2-3 Cloves, 1 inch Cinnamon, 2 Cardamom)
  •      1 tsp Cumin Seeds
  •     Salt
  •     Coriander Leaves to Garnish
  •     Oil

How:

–       In a pressure cooker, put the potatoes vegetables a bit of salt and add water and cook till 3 whistles or till done. Once it cools down, drain the vegetable (Reserve this stock) and peel the potatoes. Squeeze out any remaining liquid from the other vegetables.

–       Meanwhile dry roast the nuts and crush them coarsely into tiny bits (do not powder them).

–       In a mixing bowl add the cooked vegetables, crushed nuts, finely chopped green chillies, dry powders, salt, bread crumbs and mix thoroughly. Check and adjust the seasoning. If possible put the mash in the refrigerator for an hour. Check whether the mash can hold the shape when made into a ball.

–       Heat oil for deep-frying and add few balls at a time, roll them over, to allow even cooking and when they are golden brown take them out and drain on paper towels.

–      For the gravy, In a pan, heat some oil, add the roughly chopped onions, tomatoes, green chillies and cashewnuts and cover and let cook till done, stirring in between. (cover and cook so that the juices are retained )

–      Once the above is cooked, puree it.

–       In the same pan, heat some oil, add the whole garam masala, splutter the cumin. Add the ginger and garlic pastes and cook for a minute. Add dry powders (turmeric, chilli, cumin, coriander, kashmiri chillipowder) and stir well for a minute or till the raw smell goes.

–      Add the pureed tomato paste in this. Stir well and let it simmer. Add the reserved veg-stock or water and simmer for few min or till required consistency is reached. Add the sugar and cream and give a nice stir.

–      Check and adjust the seasoning Garnish with freshly chopped coriander leaves.

 

 

**        Serve with any Indian main dish (plain or flavored rice or any rotis)

**        Make sure the veg-mash for koftas doesn’t have water or else they absorb more oil while d-frying.

**        Fresh breadcrumbs can be made in a jiffy : put 3-4 bread slices in the mixer and whirrrrrrr….redy in a snap.

**        If not breadcrumbs, maida or cornflour or both (in a 1:1) ratio can be taken.

**        Do not put the koftas in the gravy well before time, they just soak and bulge and may even break while serving. Make sure to put it in the gravy just 10 minutes before serving. 

**       Keep changing the paper towels on which the koftas are drained, so that they absorb more oil from the koftas.

**       These Koftas make a good snack too…while cooking just gobble 2-4 koftas ;-).

 

 

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti with Golden Bread Crumbs « Love, Eat, Read & Live

  2. Pingback: Lamb Kheema Kofta Curry « Love, Eat, Read & Live

Leave a Reply

