Spaghetti with Golden Bread Crumbs


 

Was in the hang-over of those fresh bread crumbs which I had in the Malai Kofta few days back. I mean they are so fresh and soft, I was just feeling them and putting few spoons in my mouth. To me they were ooh……….so nice and fresh. Usually I used to buy bread crumbs, which were like, pretty OK for me. But one day I was making cutlets when I fell short of the crumbs. I just took few bread slices and whirred it in my processor (mixer). I was amazed at the quickness. Since then it was ‘THE END’ to the dry-breadcrumbs. Anyways, out of a packet of bread, we always have 3-4 slices left out which I usually throw away (yep, feeling guilty). But now, the leftovers are made into crumbs and stored. They would definitely be handy.

Hmm……the other day, I was wondering bout the dinner, which I wanted to be pretty quick. My mind was on pasta and the bread crumbs. Eventually this happened. I also added the pine nuts which were nagging in my head always, cos its been a while since I bought them and they may turn rancid, any day. Luckily they din, till then.

This is a super quick recipe, perfect for a lazy dinner and for kids too. I’m sure they will love it.

spaghetti with breadcrumbs, variety spaghetti

Preparation time : 10 min
Cooking time ( when done while pasta is cooking ) : 10 min
Serves : 2 Hungry People

What :

  •       Spaghetti for 2
  •       5-6 slices of Bread
  •       3 tbsp Pine Nuts
  •       3 Garlic Pods
  •       1 tbsp Red Chilli Flakes
  •       3 tbsp Coriander Leaves
  •       Salt
  •       Olive Oil

How:

–       Cook the spaghetti as per instructions. Once cooked drain it.

–       Meanwhile, In a mixer put the bread slices and give a whirrr….you get instant fresh bread crumbs. Also chop the garlic  and coriander leaves.

–       Heat oil in a pan, add garlic cloves saute for a minute or till golden and not burnt.  Add the pine nuts and roast it till golden. Now add the bread crumbs, coriander leaves, chilli flakes, salt and give nice mix. Saute well till the bread crumbs turn golden in color (do not burn them). Now add the drained spaghetti and mix nicely.

–       Check and adjust the seasoning. Serve H-O-T.

**            Any pasta shape can be used.

**            Every ingredient could be increased or decreased as per taste.

**            Can replace pine nuts with crushed almonds / cashew nuts/ pistachios and coriander leaves with parsley or spinach or any other green leaves.

Leave a Reply

