Chicken Drumsticks Curry


That’s one more proof for me that opposites attract. M loves non-veg (chicken & lamb). I’m not very keen. It’s not that I don like it. I’m just fed up of the almost-all-same recipe that I get wherever I go. It’s almost like I quit it, exceptions being that I end up eating only chicken-recipes when I go to any restaurants. So after marriage, when I failed twice in making the chicken curry, I quit doing it too. That became M’s forte. Whenever he feels like eating, he cooks. I din cook any chicken for a year.

Last time when I was at mom’s place for a month, I observed her cooking a bit and I understood what was lacking in me. ‘Patience’. I don let my curries simmer much, But mom does. and now I do. The difference is definitely seen in the quality of the dish. Now I cook and eat chicken too. I make sure that I don repeat the recipes much. Repetitiveness just kills my enthusiasm to cook.

When one weekend evening, we felt like eating chicken. I did this curry. Though any chicken piece can be used, I used only the drumsticks, as the picture in a cookbook which used chicken-drums where much more impelling. I’m happy that I followed suit. We just bought some naans…….and mmm…….the meal was gooooooood. I know one person who will drool once this post is published, My Dear M.

 

chicken drumsticks curry, chicken drumsticks, chicken gravy

Preparation time : 10 min
Cooking time : 30 min
Serve with : Roti, Rice, Poori, Bread etc
Serves : 2-3

What :

  •      6 Chicken Drumsticks (skins removed)
  •      2 Large Onions
  •      3 Big Tomatoes
  •      3-5 Green Chilies
  •      2 tsp Ginger Paste
  •      2 tsp Garlic Paste
  •      1 inch Cinnamon Stick
  •      3-4 Cloves
  •      2-3 Cardamom Pods
  •      1 tbsp Red Chilli Powder
  •      2 tbsp Coriander Powder
  •      1 tbsp Cumin Powder
  •      1 tsp Turmeric Powder
  •      1 tsp Garam Masala (optional)
  •      2 tsp Cayenne Powder / Kashmiri Red Chilli Powder (optional)
  •      2 tbsp Coriander Leaves (to garnish)
  •      Salt
  •      Oil

 

How :

–        Clean and wash chicken. Draw slits on the meaty part of the drumsticks, so that masala goes in, can be skipped, if not required. Puree the tomatoes, or slice very very thinly.

–         Heat oil in a pan, and add the cinnamon, cloves & cardamom. Saute for 30 secs and add the chopped onions and slit green chillies. Let them cook till golden brown. Add the ginger & garlic pastes, saute for a minute or two. Add the dry powders (turmeric, red chilli, coriander, cumin, cayenne) and saute for 2-3 minutes. Take care not to burn them. Into this add the pureed or finely sliced tomatoes & cook for 3-4 minutes.

–          Once the tomatoes are cooked, the oil starts leaving, at this stage, add the chicken drumsticks, salt, and stir well so that all the pieces are coated with the masala. Now pour some water, close the lid and cook. Stir occasionally. Let it simmer for 15-20 minutes or till the meat starts parting from the bone.

–         Check the adjust the seasoning. Sprinkle the garam masala & the chopped coriander leaves.  The consistency of the gravy should be medium. Serve hot.

 

Notes & Tips :

**      Drumsticks can be replaced with any parts of the chicken.

**      Letting it sit for at least an hour before serving, increases the taste as it gives the chicken proper time to drown in the masala.

 

 

Leave a Reply

