Sabudana Kichidi


 

A quick…….I mean a really quick recipe which needs planning, as it involves a soaking session. I adore these lovely cuties a lot. I like them in my Kheer. It would be so nice to look at.

Once when I went to Shirdi in Maharashtra, I was introduced to two favorite things. Sabudana Kichidi & Chocolate Fantasy of CCD. Those where the pre-marriage days when M & Me were in our little lovely world and knowing my love for chocolatey things he told me bout Choc Fantasy of CCD. He was in Singapore those days or else I wold have got one. Never saw a CCD when in search of it. Always missed it as I spotted them when I’m in  a hurry with other things. It was in Shirdi I found one and tasted the awesome cake. The next day I was checking the menu for b’fast when I saw ‘Sabudana Kichidi’. I knew I’m going to like it. And I liked it a lot, though it was very oily.

From then on, it became part of our regular b’fast. Only that my version is oily. I sometimes add potatoes to it and when I’m really in a hurry, I just skip it as I did today. It’s the cumin and the peanuts which give a nutty aroma to it. I just love it. Here I din de-skin the peanuts after roasting. Thats pretty fine as it adds color to the dish.

 

sabudana kichidi, sago kichidi, quick breakfast, saggubiyyam upma

Preparation time : 3 min
Cooking time : 10 min
Serve with : Good all by it self
Serves : 3

 

What :

  •      1 cup Sago/Sabudana/Saggu Biyyam
  •      1/2 cup Peanuts
  •      3 Green Chilies
  •      1 tsp Cumin
  •      1 tsp Turmeric Powder
  •      Salt
  •      Oil

 

How:

–         Wash the sago once in cold water and then pour water till it reaches the sago level in a vessel and soak overnight or for 3 hrs. It should double in size.

–         Heat a pan and dry roast the peanuts. Once roasted, let it cool and then crush it roughly. (The skin of the peanuts can be removed. I skipped it as I see no harm in including them. I use mortar pestle to crush the peanuts as mixer tends to powder it)

–         In the same pan, heat the oil, add the cumin seeds, when they start browning, add finely chopped green chillies. Stir for a min. Add the turmeric, salt, crushed peanuts and give a nice stir for a minute. To this add the soaked sago. Mix everything nicely.

–         Check & Adjust seasonings and serve hot.

 

Tips & Notes :

**        Curry Leaves can be added along with green chillies. Coriander leaves would overpower/change the natural flavour of the recipe. So I don use that.

**         To get the sago easily without breaking it, using a knife, do a swirl along the inner edge of the soaked vessel, close it wit a lid and shake it up. Now open the lid and put the sago into the vessel. Tadaa……..!!! You have Sago Pearls ready.

 

 

5 comments

  1. luckyhubby

    Its yummy!!!

  2. Komali

    Even i am planing to do this for my son from long back… Lack of pre- palning is stoping me… 🙂 Will defintly try on a weekend. They are cooling agents and good for health.

  3. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

