Carrot Cake with Orange Frosting


carrot cake

I should say, that with this cake I conquered my fear. I’m always afraid of doing the frosting part. I’m afraid that I will spoil the cake. Even for my half-dozen baked cakes I never tried anything. But after tasting the carrot cake twice I understood that frosting is a must. So I decided to do it. Though it din come out smooth enough….It tasted good. Good I tried. Now I know, the how and what bout it. I’m so happy I did it. So is hubby.

But, seriously, what a day I decided to do the cake, out of the 3 weeks. It was madness by the evening. I soaked lots of rice n urid to make idli batter. I put the cake in the oven and moved to the batter-task. Midway, my mixer spoiled. It’s such a bad news; Had to borrow from a friend the grinder to finish the started chore. ANd there was this fear of frosting. The sadness of the mixer; And not to mention my li’l darling who is too much an investigator now a days. He just wants to see what mom’s doing………….and Hmph………It was done finally.

The tough part for me, while baking the cake is, lining the cake tin. Earlier I wouldn’t bother bout it. But Since my past cake. I’m giving good attention to it and even that shows in the output. Somehow I couldn’t beat the cheese evenly. there were small lumps on the frosting. Other than that…………..The cake came out pretty decently. Also I used soft brown sugar so got a tad brownish cake.

Preparation time : 20 min
Cooking time : 30 min

What:

  •      175 ml sunflower oil
  •      175 gm Sugar
  •      3 Eggs, beaten
  •      175 gm grated Carrots
  •      175 gm Self Raising Flour
  •      Rind of 1 Orange
  •      55 gm Walnut pieces
  •      1 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
  •      1 tsp Cinnamon

…….frosting :

  •      200 gm full fat soft Cheese
  •      100 gm icing Sugar
  •      3 tsp Orange juice

How:

–       Preheat the  oven to 180 c. Grease and line the base of the cake tin.

–       In a large mixing bowl, beat together the oil, sugar. Add eggs one after the other and beating each one, before adding the other. Stir in the carrots, orange rind and the walnuts.

–       Sift the flour, bicarbonate of soda & cinnamon together. Now stir it evenly into the oil-sugar mixture.

–       Now spoon this mixture into the prepared tin and bake it for 35 minutes or until well-risen and firm to touch.

–       Remove the cake and cool it on a wire rack. After 5 minutes, turn it onto the wire rack, to cool completely.

–       For the frosting, combine and beat the soft cheese, icing sugar, orange juice till smooth. Coat this on top of the cake, evenly.

–       Top the frosting with orange rind, if desired.

Leave a Reply

