SSS – Spinach Stem Salad


A general browsing has landed me here and introduced a new salad to me…!!

I don waste much of food so this was the perfect recipe for me and I remember seeing a good many bunch of spinach at home. I remember, cos, now the kitchen is handed over to my mom. One more month and then I’m back to my loving kitchen. Yep, I do miss working in it and experimenting on myself and my family. ( Mom & Dad are here to support us as we had a li’l new born gal at home. She is 2 months old exactly for today)

Well not much blah…blah. here is the simple recipe.

Spinach Salad

This is the first time I’m making this dish. So I want to make it as simple as possible.

 

Preparation time :  10 min
Cooking time : 10 min
Shelf Life : 2-3 days if refrigerated

What :

  •  Spinach stems –  As many as you could source
  •  Garlic Cloves –  As many as you love
  •  Lemon juice
  •  Salt
  •  Olive oil

 

How :

–        Cut and clean the spinach stems under running water as much a possible. Make sure there is no dirt left.

–        Drain the spinach stems for 10-15 min. Meanwhile thinly slice the garlic cloves.

–        Steam it for 5 minutes. make sure its not soggy. Once done, remove it put it in a place.

–        In a pan, heat the olive oil and then brown the garlic cloves in it.

–        Take the lemon juice and add the salt and mix well. Pour over the cooked stem and give a quick toss. Now pour the olive oil along with the cloves onto the spinach stem and give a nice stir.

–        Let it sit for few mins before serving it.

 

 

Note :

**        A good glug of olive oil is going to flavour this dish.

**       This innocent dish could be spiced up by adding a bit of crushed chillies.

**       Adding pine nuts or walnuts or toasted almonds will give a nice crunch to this dish.

**       Extra Indian – touch can by using chutney powders or spice mixes.

**        Make sure the stems are not steamed to be soggy. let it have a li’l bit of life & crunch. I had a good bunch of the stems so I put it all to steam and went to the shop to buy lemon and chillies. And when I returned they were a bit soggy. Still tasted great.

 

Leave a Reply

